Tottenham Hotspur F.C. (Spurs)

Overview: Tottenham F.C. is located in Tottenham, Haringey, London and was founded in 1882 by a group of boys from a Bible class at All Hallows Church. They played in the Southern League from 1896-1908 when they joined the Football League Second Division. The club is said to have taken its name from one Harry Hotspur (from Shakespeare’s Henry IV), who frequently wore riding spurs and had fighting chickens that also had spurs. The spurred cockerel has been in their crest for over a century. The team struggled in the 1970’s and was briefly relegated before returning to the top flight. In the 90’s, the Spurs were found guilty of making illegal payments to players, resulting in a $600,000 fine, 12-point deduction from the next season, and a one-year ban form the FA Cup. After appeal, the point deduction and ban were removed but the fine was upped to $1.5 million. The team struggled in the early 2000’s before better managing helped them qualify for the Champions League in 2006. Their biggest rival is Arsenal. The team has won the FA Cup 7 times, the Football League twice, the Football League Cup four times, the UEFA Cup twice, and the UEFA Cup Winners’ Cup once.

Stadium: White Hart Lane, (36,284). Currently building a new stadium.

Notable players:

Steve Perryman, D (1969-1986)

Jimmy Greaves, F, (1961-1970)

Dave Mackay, D (1959-1968)

Danny Blanchflower, D (1954-1964)

Harry Kane, F (present)

Hugo Lloris, GK (present)

Fun facts:

They are the only non-league team to win the FA Cup (1901) since the formation of the Football League in 1888

Their team motto is “To Dare is to Do”

They became the first English team to win a UEFA competition after winning the UEFA Cup Winners’ Cup in 1963

The team has a large Jewish following

They hold the record for most goals in a Premier League game — 9.

Watford F.C. (The Hornets)

Overview: Watford was founded in 1881 as the Watford Rovers in Watford, Hertfordshire, England. They joined the Southern League in 1896 and after winning in 1915, joined the Football League in 1920. They have spent most of the 20th century in the lower divisions. When Graham Taylor was appointed manager in 1977, the club was in the 4th division. Ten years later, the club had risen to the 1st division. Unfortunately, the team then spent the next ten years in decline before Taylor returned and brought the team to the Premier League for a year before falling down to the Championship. In 2006 they came back up to the Premier League for a season before falling once more. Last year they won the Championship League and are currently competing in the Premier League.

Stadium: Vicarage Road (21,438)

Notable players:

Troy Deeney, F (current)

Luther Blissett, F (1975-1983, 1991-1993)

John Barnes, M (1981-1987)

Gary Porter, M (1984-1997)

Fun facts:

Elton John owned Watford for a period of time

In 2002 the players and staff agreed to a 12% wage cut to keep the team financials afloat