Middlesbrough F.C. (Smoggies)

Overview: Middlesbrough F.C. was founded in 1876 in Middlesbrough, North Yorkshire, England. They turned professional in 1889, reverted to amateurism in 1892, and then permanently turned pro in 1899. Their current stadium is their 3rd since their founding. Since their beginning, the club has spent a lot of time in the Second Division. They won their first professional trophy in 1975, the Anglo-Scottish Cup, 100 years after their origination. The team was one of the founding members of the Premier League in 1992 and has mostly stayed in the Premier League since, except for relegation in 1997 and a tough spell in the Championship League from 2009-2016. Their highest Premier League placing was 7th (2005). Middlesbrough won the League Cup in 2004 and qualified for the UEFA Cup for the first time that same year. They have also won the Division Two title 4 times.

Stadium: Riverside Stadium

Notable players:

Brian Clough, F (1955-1961)

John Hickton, F (1966-1978)

George Camsell, F (1925-1939)

George Hardwick, D (1937-1950)

Fun facts:

They have one of the highest proportions of female fans (20%)

7th loudest fans in the Premier League according to a 2008 survey

First football club in the world to launch its own TV channel — Boro TV

Stoke City F.C. (The Potters)

Overview: Stoke City F.C., founded in 1863 by some railroad workers as the Stoke Ramblers, is based in Stoke-on-Trent in Stafforshire. They dropped ‘Ramblers’ in 1878 and added ‘City’ in 1925. They are the second oldest professional football club and are one of the founding members of the Football League. They haven’t enjoyed too much success in all those years though, winning only one major trophy, the League Cup, in 1972. Before rejoining the top league in 2008, they had been out of it for 23 years. They placed 4th in the top division in 1936 and 1947 and came second in the FA Cup in 2011. In the past 3 years, Stoke has finished 9th in the table. Their major rivals are West Brom and Wolverhampton.

Stadium: bet365 Stadium

Notable Players:

Stanley Matthews, M (1932-1947, 1961-1965)

Jimmy Greenhoff, F (1969-1976)

Mike Pejic, D (1968-1976)

Jackie Marsh, D (1967-1979)

Gordon Banks, GK (1967-1973)

Fun facts:

Went bankrupt in 1907

Burnden park disaster: 33 fans died and 520 injured

Known for their violent fans

Stanley Matthews is the only player to have been knighted while still playing

They are called The Potters due to the pottery industry in Stoke-on-Trent