Leicester City (The Foxes)

Overview: Leicester City was founded in 1884 as Leicester Fosse Football Club and played near Fosse Road. In 1894 they joined the Football League and changed their name to Leicester City in 1919. They have won 6 second-division titles and one championship. Last season they won the Premier League and became the 6th team to win the Premier League since its inception. Their title win is considered one of the greatest upsets of all time of any sport. In 2008-2009, Leicester was in League 1, two tiers below the Premier League. That year they came in first and were promoted to the Championship League and came in fifth 2009-2010. The team remained in the Championship League until the 2013-2014 season when they were again champions with a win over Bolton. The team hired former Chelsea manager Claudio Ranieri at the beginning of the 2015-2016 campaign. He led the team to their first ever Premier League victory and their first qualification for the Champions League, where they placed first in their group. Ranieri was awarded Coach of the Year.

Stadium: King Power Stadium

Notable players:

Jamie Vardy, F (current)

Riyad Mahrez, M (current)

Islam Slimani, F (current)

Wes Morgan, D (current)

Gary Mills, D (1989-1994)

Gordon Banks, GK (1959-1967)

Fun facts:

– One of 3 teams to be at the bottom of the table at Christmas and not get relegated (2015)

– Striker Jamie Vardy holds the record for consecutive games scored in (13 goals in 11 games, 2015)

– Fastest 7-year rise to the title except for Ipswich Town in 1962

– Odds of them winning the Premier League in 2015-2016 was 5000:1

Liverpool (The Reds)

Overview: Liverpool was founded in 1892 and joined the Football League a year later. They have played at their current stadium, Anfield, since its formation. The club has won 5 European Cups, 3 UEFA Cups, 3 UEFA Super Cups, 18 League titles, 7 FA Cups, 8 League Cups, and 15 FA Community Shields. The club’s anthem is “You’ll Never Walk Alone.” The club was originally called Everton FC and Athletic Grounds Ltd. before changing their name to Liverpool FC in March 1892. Their current manager is Jurgen Klopp, who replaced Brendan Rodgers at the beginning of last season. They have one of the best fan bases of all European teams.

Stadium: Anfield

Notable players:

Philippe Coutinho, M (current)

Luis Suarez, F (2011-2014)

Steven Gerrard, M (1998-2015)

Phil Neal, D (1974-1986)

Billy Liddell, M (1938-1961)

Kenny Dalglish, F (1977-1990)

Ian Rush, F (1980-1986, 1988-1996)

Fun facts:

– 8th most valuable club ($1.55 billion)

– Two major tragedies, the Heysel Stadium disaster and the Hillsborough disaster, have resulted in fan deaths

– Liverpool fans refer to themselves as Kopites, referencing the Kop at Anfield

– Their song was originally from a Rodgers and Hammerstein musical

– Everton remains their biggest rivals, with games between the two having more red cards than any other matchup